Winners of the 2017 Feather Awards

Written by on November 10, 2017

The ninth installment of the Feather Awards took place at Midrand’s Theatre on the Track on Thursday evening.

The event is known as Africa’s biggest Gay award ceremony celebrating all who support & empower the LGBTI community.

Last night, the lengthy list of nominees was shortened to reveal the winners of 2017.

Here are the winners and their titles:

Best Styled Female and Fag-Hag of the Year – Kelly Khumalo

Best Styled Man – Trevor Stuurman

Media Award – Phatu Makwarela

Hot Chick of the Year – K Naomi

Hunk of the Year – Fezile Makhanya

Cutest Couple of the Year – Mandisa Nduna and Thishiwe Ziqubu

Diva Extraordinaire – Carol Bouwer

Socialite of the Year – Basetsana Khumalo

Musician of the Year – Kwesta

Sports Personality of the Year – Wayde Van Niekerk

Role Model of the Year and African Feather of the Year – Ricky Kgositau

Drama Queen of the Year – Zodwa Wabantu

Feather of the Year – Amstel Maboa


As usual, the fashion did not disappoint.

Skolopad shocked everyone by showing up with a clear plastic dress stuffed with sausage to cover her lady bits. A tutu was attached to the back of her dress.

Her outfit was paired with a charcoal ‘handbag.’

Skolopad told the media that she wanted to show people she didn’t like beef, she prefers ‘wors.’

#FeatherAwards2017 handled!

A post shared by 🎬🎥🎭❤️ (@lumkojohnson) on


A post shared by ZAlebs (@zalebs) on



Current track