Ramaphosa wins ANC election

Written by on December 19, 2017

Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa has been voted head of the ANC at the party’s 54th national conference.

After a nail-biting election, Ramaphosa won with 2 440 votes to 2 261 for his rival, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma.

The 64-year-old will reign for the next five years.

The future of the ANC, and in turn the future of the country, remains uncertain however.

Some analysts have argued that the results of this election will mean bad news for the Guptas.

Others speculated that Ramaphosa would recall Jacob Zuma.

South Africa will have to sit tight and patiently await the outcome of the newly elected ANC leadership.

The five other leadership positions have been filled by:

Deputy President – David Mabuza

National Chairperson – Gwede Mantashe

Secretary General – Ace Magashule

Deputy Secretary General – Jessie Duarte

Treasurer General – Paul Mashatile



Current track